How you doing? What color you like?

You know the phrases. You hear it at almost every nail salon found in most cities the moment you walk in the door. *Ding* and then they ask the question. For the longest time that irritated me. It annoyed me. 99% of the time the nail technicians never looked up to make eye contact before asking those 2 questions. They continued to work. Head down. They were focused on finishing the current set of acrylic nail tips topped off with diamond studs and purple flowers. (insert sarcasm).

*Ding*

How you doing? What color you like?

So today I made my way to my local nail spot during my lunch hour to get a much needed fill-in and to have “Tommy Lee” (we’ll just call him that for the sake of this blog) shave these tips down because the other dude from 2 weeks ago made them a bit bulky. Half way through my services he began talking to me. This usually bothers me when I’m being serviced because I just want them to work and let me leave. But today the Asian soap operas were on so I couldn’t act as if I was watching tv. I had to listen to him and actively engage in the conversation. “Tommy Lee” asked where I worked and how long I had for my lunch break. I told him. He asked what type of operation we had at that location. I told him. I even showed him my badge which was hanging from my neck. More questions about our operations and our off shore locations and then he asked specifically what I did there and how long I’d been with the company. I told him about my role in management and that I had been with the company only 6 months. His response shocked me. “Tommy Lee” asked me how was it that I was a manager and I had only been there for 6 months. He went on to say that he thought that you have to work your way up in companies and that came with time. So I had to explain to him that I was in a similar role with my former organization and I basically do the same thing just with another company.

 

*Ding*

How you doing? What color you like?

Just as my conversation with him ended another customer walked in. I’m not even sure which of them asked the question but within 3 seconds the customer was asked, “How you doing? What color you like?” At that moment it hit me. Maybe it was a cultural thing. I’m not exactly sure what his actual ethnic background is but whatever the case they seem to have a sense of “servitude” about them. As for most of us it’s really always about what can I get out of a situation and not what can I provide. From now on I’ll never really feel the same as I did before about being pounced upon from 10 different voices in various areas of the nail salon as soon as they hear *Ding* I just wish they would at least look up and wave at a sista or something so I’ll know who the hell I’m talking to when I’m told to pick a color off the wall of infinite OPI nail colors.

