According to Wikipedia (o_O)

Dreams are successions of images, ideas, emotions, and sensations that occur involuntarily in the mind during certain stages of sleep. The content and purpose of dreams are not definitively understood, though they have been a topic of scientific speculation,interpretation, philosophical and religious interest throughout recorded history. The scientific study of dreams is called oneirology. Science has proven that all mammals dream.

The earliest recorded dreams were acquired from materials dating back approximately 5000 years, in Mesopotamia, where they were documented on clay tablets. In the Greek and Roman periods, the people believed that dreams were direct messages from the gods, or from the dead and that they predicted the future. Some cultures practiced dream incubation with the intention of cultivating dreams that are prophetic.

 

A couple of days ago I had a dream and I posted this on facebook:

I had a dream about fish. Mike and I were in a furniture store looking for a sofa and walked away with two “bundles” of fish. I took the fish to the guy at work who was going to fry it and he sent me back for more. The furniture/fish store was closed. I know who one bundle belongs to. Whodahellelseispregnant?

The responses from that post were nothing short of hilarious. I knew my cousin was pregnant and the word was slowly creeping through the family. In my family,  one of the old wives tales includes the one where somebody dreams of fish that means that someone is pregnant.  Well in this case I had a dream about BUNDLES of fish. So does that mean there’s more than one person close to me who is pregnant? Or does it mean that my cousin is having multiples?

Truth be told, I’m not one who really digs into dream interpretations as being prophetic and such. However, I do believe that sometimes they represent something that is going on in our own subconscience – not necessarily being prophetic.  So just for kicks that same day I dug around on the “innernet” to see what I could find about dreaming of fish. Here’s what I found:

To dream of cooking fish indicates that you are incorporating your new realizations with your spiritual feelings and knowledge. If you are cleaning fish, then it suggests that you are altering your emotional expression in a way that will be presentable to others. You are censoring yourself and not expressing how you completely feel.

Alternatively, a fish swimming in your dream may symbolize conception. Some women dream of swimming fish when they get pregnant.

To see a flying fish in your dream indicates that you are feeling emotionally free and uninhibited.

So you see – nothing really related to bundles of fish. But we got a kick out of it anyway.

Last night my dreams became really weird. Here’s the re-cap:

We were at my grandmother’s home in Douglass (North Memphis). While the family was there she died. Keep in mind that she actually died in December 2005. So the family begin gathering in the back room where her body is lying – in my grandfather’s bedroom. (Yep they had separate bedrooms). My mother was combing her hair and her other sisters were surrounding her fixing her clothing.  I vividly remember looking at her legs and feet (no shoes) to verify that it was my grandmother. She had this big strawberry birthmark on her leg and I spotted it.   Her body remained in the back room for hours while we were waiting on the funeral director, my husband’s uncle, to come from Fayette County, TN.  The funeral was scheduled for 7pm that evening.  

Hours passed and she’s still lying in the bed. Suddenly her hand moved from her side to her face. I stepped back as if I were the only one who saw her move. Of course, freaked out – I went to the front door to look for the funeral director again.  This time I remember it being about 5:30pm and we were beginning to wonder if he would ever show up.  I turned and looked down the hall and my grandmother was walking down the hall.  There was a house full of family members and nobody seemed to panic. We all noticed that she was “now alive” but nobody said anything.  She was wearing a housecoat and went into her sewing room to get a soda.  She picked it up – opened the can and then sat down in “her chair” to drink it.  Still no words from anyone in the family.  She then got up and went back down the hall and got in the bed.

Suffice it to say, I woke up scratching my head thinking – WHAT IN THE WORLD WAS THAT ABOUT?  The only thing that I could come up with was this:  The thing which you desired and thought was dead is only sleeping. It’s up to us to awaken it.

Okay, then we get to church and Pastor Baldwin, with his bald-headed self went in deeper.  His text: Luke 1:59-64.  He told the story of Zacharias and his unbelief which led to him being silenced.  During his “silent” period his wife, who was once considered barren, conceived a child. They called him John.  He went on to name all of the women of the bible who were considered barren, according to man, but God later used them to bring forth His promise.  Hannah, Sarah, Rebekah, Rachel, Leah, and Elisabeth.

So with my “non-prophetic” eye I’m seeing some things that are happening for a particular person around me – close to me (in one form).  Here’s my own interpretation of the dreams from this week:

There will be multiple births announced in the very near future by people who are close to me – in one form or another. It may not be physical closeness.  The birth may not be a physical one either. It may be the manifestation of a dream – but it’s up to you to wake up that thing you once thought was dead.  God has a plan for you. When you thought your dream was dead, when you were labeled as barren, and you couldn’t birth that thing you longed for; He’s using your silence or lack of production as an opportunity for you to be still so that when that thing comes forth only He can get the glory.

 

Happy Holidays and Sweet Dreams!

 

 

